GITS photo.jpg

"I'M NOT FUNNY AT ALL. WHAT I AM IS BRAVE."
- LUCILLE BALL

Being a “female comedian” is like bicycling in heavy traffic. You can ride on the same roads as cars, but they weren’t built for you. You spend way more time...trying not to get hurt than navigating with ease. 


– From The Girl in the Show: Three Generations of Comedy, Culture, & Feminism by Anna Fields

Read more @ http://www.oprah.com/book/the-girl-in-the-show#ixzz4uPbPORtY

 

PRESS AND REVIEWS

CAN COMEDY SAVE US IN THE "POST-TRUTH" ERA?

Salon.com

DOUBLE THE FUN: ANNA FIELDS TALKS ABOUT CREATING A BOOK AND DOCUMENTARY AT THE SAME TIME FOR THE GIRL IN THE SHOW

Paste Magazine

COMEDY NERDS, 20TH-CENTURY HISTORY BUFFS, AND POP CULTURE JUNKIES, REJOICE! THE GIRL IN THE SHOW IS YOUR JAM.

THE NEW DOCUMENTARY AND BOOK “THE GIRL IN THE SHOW” CHARTS THE CHALLENGING RISE OF WOMEN IN COMEDY

 

THE GIRL IN THE SHOW

For fans of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Amy Schumer—and every other “funny woman”—comes a candid feminist comedy manifesto exploring the sisterhood between women’s comedy and women’s liberation.


From female pop culture powerhouses dominating the entertainment landscape to memoirs from today’s most vocal feminist comediennes shooting up the bestseller lists, women in comedy have never been more influential.

Marking this cultural shift, The Girl in the Show provides an in-depth exploration of how comedy and feminism have grown hand in hand to give women a stronger voice in the ongoing fight for equality. From I Love Lucy to SNL to today’s rising cable and web-series stars, Anna Fields’ entertaining retrospective combines amusing and honest personal narratives with the historical, political, and cultural contexts of the feminist movement.

With interview subjects like Abbi Jacobson, Molly Shannon, Mo Collins, and Lizz Winstead among others—as well as actresses, stand-up comics, writers, producers, and female comedy troupes—Fields shares true stories of wit and heroism from some of our most treasured (and under-represented) artists. At its heart, The Girl in the Show captures the urgency of our continued struggle towards equality, allowing the reader to both revel in—and rebel against—our collective ideas of “women’s comedy.”

 

OTHER BOOKS BY ANNA FIELDS

CONFESSIONS OF A REBEL DEBUTANTE

A delicious, laugh-out-loud funny Southern-fried memoir about growing up a "proper young lady"...or not.

HUMAN KEN DOLLS

Forthcoming in 2019

BLOODY

Forthcoming in 2019

 

UPCOMING EVENTS

Check below for the latest book signings, workshops, lectures, on-air interviews and so much more

THE GIRL IN THE SHOW

PRIVATE SCREENING AND Q&A WITH THE DIRECTOR

THURSDAY, MARCH 22ND @7PM

HER VOICE: REVOLUTIONARY WOMEN IN HISTORY

EVERY THURSDAY IN MARCH ON 88.5 WFDD

TALKING DIRTY TO THE ANIMALS 

AN ONLINE COLUMN BY ANNA FIELDS

SPECIAL APPEARANCE

CNN ORIGINAL SERIES

THE HISTORY OF COMEDY

JULY, 2018
SUNDAY NIGHTS @ 10PM ET/PT
ON CNN

 

GET IN TOUCH

Address:

Los Angeles, CA, USA

Email:

 

Anna Fields, interviewing LA-based comedian Eliza Skinner

"When we discussed all of this underlying competition, Eliza Skinner commented, 'If I were going to give advice to women, anytime you find yourself judging another woman on anything, just cut it out. Just stop. Whether it’s if their voices are annoying. Whether it’s that they seem sexy. Whether it’s that they aren’t funny. ‘She isn’t even fucking funny! Fuck her!’ You’re just making it worse. There should be every type of woman in the public eye and everywhere. There should be every type of female character. And we get charged now with being a certain type of woman: ‘You should be like a certain type of strong, confident woman, that’s it.’ Like I read articles about women saying that other women shouldn’t appear so weak on stage. Or women shouldn’t talk about such explicit sexual things. And it’s just limiting what women are allowed to be … Think about how many male comics have built their career on talking about how fat they are. How ugly they are. How awful they are. And to say, ‘Okay that’s another area that you’re not allowed to talk about, women. Can’t talk about these things or these things. Or these things or these things. You can only talk about these things. So find a way to make a career in that.'"
― from "The Girl in the Show: Three Generations of Comedy, Culture, and Feminism"

 

Los Angeles, CA, USA

©2017 by annafields.net. Proudly created with Wix.com